::01 January 2013::

Happy New Year to everybody! I hope the countdown to it was great for you all… My midnight celebration this morning, on another hand, was quite scattered and inconsistent. The party I attended blared music with chattering people, and midnight was nearly forgotten about! My friend and I jumped back inside to announce that there was “Only one minute until midnight!” Another’s phone read 12:02am, though unanimously according to: it was 11:59pm and still before midnight. Our celebrations of midnight were staggered, and the “New Year” was less than a precise moment,. [I thought to myself, –] What…, no countdown from ten? Midnight to mark 2013 was hardly recognized! My New Year’s tradition has, for many years, consisted of watching Dick Clark (1929-2012) and the dropping of the ball in Time Square. The countdown to midnight was an exciting and powerful “TEN…” to “ONE…” as the glowing ball hit to the bottom and the last second ran out… then the burst of a “HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!” [with Auld Land Syne starting through the speakers at the stroke of midnight]. What consistency that was for me on New Year’s Eve! You were my tradition, Dick Clark… Rest in peace. And to everybody else: Please enjoy this traditional New Year’s carol, and enjoy the inspiration of beginning a new year!

.

.

.

© 2013 by Stephanie Himmelman. All Rights Reserved

No part of my writing may be reproduced, published, distributed, copied or displayed.

