.

I moved back to my hometown, here, to be with my father as he ages. I’ve been away for three years, and have missed out on many chances to bond with my father, having my [now] adult mindset. After losing my mother during my teenage years, I’ve come to believe that you should spend as much time with your parents as you can get. Pick their brains; understand why they are what they are. Ask questions about their life. And most importantly: treasure the moments you have with them. I could sense my father’s health sliding downhill, so I decided that, thoughts on this town aside, I need to be with him and know as much of him as I can while he’s here. My memories of him over these past five months are irreplaceable. I love my father, and I love[d] my mother. Message from Stephanie: Promise to always love who made you.

.

.

.

© 2013 by Stephanie Himmelman. All Rights Reserved

No part of my writing may be reproduced, published, distributed, copied or displayed.

