.

I am twenty-five. And the majority of my friends have begun the process of love and marriage… of happiness. Many of them have already had two kids, even three.

.

I… have not.

.

As the years of my life go by, I wonder why I have not experienced such joy… Why I am downhill towards my thirties and have not met the man with whom I will have my children. At the rate which I have seen around me, I’m running behind if I am in my late twenties. It seems that everybody is procreating.

In finding a permanent lover, I suppose that my bar is set a little high. I have had plenty of opportunities… but after feeling it out, potential of “the one” wasn’t in any of them. And so I choose (repeatedly) not to explore the option from the beginning… Are my standards too high? Does the “man of my dreams” even exist…? As the years of my life go by, I wonder if I am becoming a squandered old maid, as my father has assumed…

Fortunately, I inherited physical beauty through my family line. … (SEE MORE)

.

.

.

© 2013 by Stephanie Himmelman. All Rights Reserved

No part of my writing may be reproduced, published, distributed, copied or displayed.

